OC Supervisor Katrina Foley Announces Housing Choice Voucher Program Application Assistance Event with Unidos

ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA – Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley will host an event on September 28, 2023, to help families apply for the waitlist of the Orange County Housing Authority (OCHA) Housing Choice Voucher Program. The event is hosted alongside OCHA and Unidos, a San Juan Capistrano based community organization. The vouchers aim to help very low-income families, elderly, and disabled community members afford healthy, safe and suitable housing.

“We must address housing affordability for our workforce, families, Veterans, seniors, and homeless neighbors by using all the tools at our disposal,” said Supervisor Foley. “By opening the list for housing choice vouchers for the first time in more than a decade, the County creates a pathway to housing stability for our workforce and vulnerable community members. I look forward to this opportunity partnering with Unidos to help and ensure all eligible Orange County families can access affordable housing.”

The event will take place on September 28, 2023 from 3:30 – 5:30 p.m. at the Laguna Niguel County One-Stop at 28202 Cabot Road Suite 140 Laguna Niguel, CA 92677.

Application preference will be given to those living or working in OCHA’s jurisdiction and in the order listed to applicants who are U.S. Veterans, Elderly, Disabled, or families and individuals. OCHA’s jurisdiction includes all cities and unincorporated areas of Orange County except for the cities of Anaheim, Garden Grove and Santa Ana. These cities each operate a separate Housing Choice Voucher Program.

Applications can be submitted beginning September 18, 2023, 8:00 a.m. and ending September 29, 2023, 11:59 p.m. in three ways:

Online at Waitlistcheck | Orange County Housing Authority

Mailed to P.O. Box 11387, Santa Ana, CA 92711.  Must be postmarked from September 18, 2023 through September 29, 2023.   

Via email to OCHA.WaitingList2023@occr.ocgov.com 

Residents may access the application from any computer, smart phone or tablet with internet access. If you do not have internet access, you may visit the Orange County Public Library and the County One-Stop in District 5. Applicants must have a valid email account prior to completing the online application. An online application is strongly encouraged; this method will provide an immediate confirmation of receipt of your application. Paper applications are available at participating City Halls, branches of the Orange County Public Library and select community organizations.

Individuals with disabilities that require a Reasonable Accommodation to participate in the application process may contact OCHA from September 18 - 29, 2023, at 714-480-2798 Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

For more information on how to apply, please visit www.ochousing.org or call OCHA at 714-480-2798.


Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley was elected to the Board of Supervisors in 2022 to represent the newly established District 5, which includes the cities of Aliso Viejo, Costa Mesa, Dana Point, a large portion of Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Newport Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, as well as the unincorporated areas of Coto de Caza, Emerald Bay, Ladera Ranch, Las Flores, Rancho Mission Viejo, Stonecliffe and Wagon Wheel. This is her second term on the Board of Supervisors, where she previously served District 2.

Supervisor Foley’s Board appointments include the Orange County Fire Authority (OCFA), OCFA Legislation & Public Affairs Committee Chair, Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA), Transportation Corridor Agency (TCA), TCA Joint Environmental Committee, Coastal Greenbelt Authority, Newport Bay and South Orange County Watershed Executive Committees, Ocean Institute, San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station (SONGS) Community Engagement Panel, Spent Fuel Solutions Coalition Co-Chair, Law Library Board of Trustees, Orange County Housing Finance Trust Chair, Local Agency Formation Commission (alt), Orange County Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council, and OC Public Libraries Advisory Board.